Veteran Human Rights Defender Krishna Pahadi is founding chair of HURPES.HURPES was established in 1st June 1996. Nepal regained democracy after 30 years in 1990, through a popular movement. All Founding members of HURPES played significant roles, in their capacities, in the pro-democracy movement in Nepal before 1990. The Founding members of HURPES were arrested many times for their peaceful human rights work.

 The founders are:- (1996-1998)

  • Krishna Pahadi (Founder Chair)

  • Subas Dhakal (Founder General Secretary)

  • Sushil Pant (Founder Treasurer)

  • Krishna Kandel (Founder Member)

  • Purushottam Dahal (Founder Member) Purushottam Dahal served as chair of HURPES from 2004-2010.Purushottam Dahal’s Life membership of HURPES was terminated by unanimous decision of 19th National Council Meeting of HURPES which is apex decision making body of HURPES held on November 2016 for his lies and false writings in his book,attempting to damage HURPES image.

  • Pradeep Pokharel (Founder Member) Not involved in HURPES campaigning  activities since 2003.

  • Lila Khanal (Founder Member)

    Krishna Pahadi (Founder Chair)

    Krishna Pahadi was born on 30th March 1963 at Madi Ramveni village of Shankhuwasabha district of Nepal, a remote Hilly district that lies in the Himalayan region in eastern part of Nepal.

    He belongs to a Dahal family. He was born to Badri Prasad Pahadi and Radha Devi Dahal.  Read Biography

    Subas Dhakal (Founder General Secretary):

    Editor of Saptahik weekly & Sarbottam monthly. Former vice chair & member of central executive committee of federation of Nepalese Journalists Association. Former General Secretary & treasurer of AI Nepal. Worked as Journalist for last 3 Decade. Founding member of HURON[1988].

    Krishna Kandel:(Founder Member)

    Involved as an artist in theatre movement for the last 2 Decade.  Former Director & Chair Of Amnesty International Nepal Section Read Biography